​​Scholarships and Awards

Art and Design Scholarships

The School of Design typically gives over $10,000 worth of scholarships during the spring semester of the school year. Listed below are some of the scholarships available to students. (The number of scholarships in each category vary from year to year.)

  • Arlen and Florence West Scholarship 
    (rotates among departments within the college)
  • Arts Bash Scholarships
  • BFA Review Scholarships
  • COFAC Dedication Scholarships
  • Dan Favor Memorial Unconventional Art Scholarship
  • Delta Dental of Wisconsin Art Scholarship
  • Herbert H. Sandmann Arts Scholarship
  • Edna Carlsten Scholarship
  • Elizabeth Weber Rice Memorial Scholarship
  • Festival of the Arts Scholarships
  • International Programs Scholarship
  • Leadership and Service Scholarship
  • Monoprint Scholarships
  • Nancy Bahling Scholarship
  • Pineries Bank Fine Arts Scholarship
  • Sentry Insurance Student Sculptor Scholarship
  • Sentry Insurance Scholarship

Art and Design Awards 

Students are invited annually to submit work to be included in the Edna Carlsten Art Gallery Student Juried Exhibition. The jurying process and selection of awards is handled by a guest juror. Listed below are some of the awards available to students. (The awards vary from year to year.)

  • Arts Bash Award / Best of Show
  • David Smith Award for Art Excellence
  • Excellence Award in Foundation Level Work (multiple awarded)
  • Glass Sculpture Award
  • J. Pierson Photography Memorial Award
  • Nancy J. Sanford Memorial
  • Okray Family Fund Award for the Visual Arts
  • Richard C. Schneider Annual Ceramics Award
  • SCULPT Award for Excellence in 3D Work
  • Wayne Halverson Art Award
  • William H. Black Award for 4D Work
  • William J. Hanford Memorial Award

Interior Architecture Scholarships 

There are many scholarships available for students in the interior architecture program. Scholarships are typically announced at the end of fall semester with applications due at the beginning of spring semester.​

  • ASID Student Chapter Scholarship
  • Bernice Kurzynski Scholarship
  • Dr. Barbara Inch Non-Trad Scholarship for Women
  • Mary Ann Baird IA International Study Scholarship
  • Natalie & Paul Ciulla IA Scholarship
  • Patricia C. Kluetz ASID Scholarship

Communication and Media Studies Scholarships and Awards

The Division of Communication awards over $12,000 annually to deserving UWSP students. Some of the scholarships typically awarded are highlighted below. Most of the awards are presented at our  Communication Awards Banquet, hosted each spring.
Each award has its own set of criteria, which might include a number of characteristics such as year in school, grade point average, financial need, emphasis area, or involvement in student organizations. Some are determined through faculty nominations; others require an application. For those requiring an application, any student who is eligible to apply for a particular award will be notified via e-mail of their eligibility and instructed how and when to submit the application.


  • Greater Milwaukee Foundation/Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Scholarship(s)
  • Jonathan Little Scholarship



  • John Anderson Spirit of Community Award
  • Leland Burroughs Scholarship
  • COFAC - Communication Dedication Scholarship
  • Albert Croft Scholarship
  • William C. Davidson Scholarship
  • Lee Sherman Dreyfus Scholarship Award(s)
  • Lee Sherman Dreyfus Memorial Speaking Award
  • Steven Heller Student Involvement Scholarship
  • Dan and Audrey Houlihan Journalism Scholarship
  • Hyun & Maria Kim Comm Scholarship
  • Larry Kokkeler Memorial Scholarship
  • Greg Loescher Scholarship
  • Leslie Midkiff-DeBauche Scholarship
  • Susan Moriarity Memorial Scholarship
  • O'Donnell Family Scholarship
  • Elizabeth Parkinson Scholarship
  • James Schuh Broadcasting Scholarship(s)
  • Sentry Scholarship
  • Stephen A Walther Memorial Scholarship
  • Friend of the Division
  • Alumna/us of the Year
  • Who's Who in Communication
  • Red Shoes Communication Scholarship 
  • Chris Keller Journalism Scholarship


Student Organization Awards

  • The Pointer Awards
  • SPTV Awards
  • PRSSA Awards
  • WWSP-90FM Awards

​CLICK ON BUTTON to see video