Faculty and Staff

The department offers small classes taught by a dedicated faculty, and a lot of individual attention and advising. Our faculty come from some of the best Political Science PhD programs, and are engaged in ongoing research projects. The faculty have extensive field experience studying, teaching, working, and pursuing research in Europe, Latin America, and Asia.​
Department Chair
SCI D339
Senior Lecturer
North Hall 313 Wausau Campus
Associate Professor
SCI D333
Assistant Professor
SCI D335
Laurie Simonis
Laurie Simonis
Academic Department Associate
SCI D240

Retired and Emeritus Professors

James Canfield
Title: Professor Emeritus

Mark Cates
Professor Cates taught at UWSP from 1963 to 1996. He passed away in Summer 2009. Mark left a wonderful endowment to the UWSP Political Science Department to fund student scholarships.

Richard D. Christofferson 
Professor Christofferson taught at UWSP from 1967-1997. He passed away in 2021.

John V. Finn
Professor Finn taught political science and ran the Student Legal Services Office at UWSP political science. The long-time Portage County Circuit Court judge passed away in 2021.

Nancy S.  Lind 
            Title: Professor Emerita, Illinois State University

Ed Miller
Title: Professor Emeritus
John Morser 
Professor Morser taught at UWSP from 1970 to 2004. He passed away in 2019.

John Oster 
Professor Oster taught at UWSP from 1962 to 1992. He passed away in 2009.

Dennis Riley
Title: Professor Emeritus
Bhola P. Singh
Professor Singh taught at UWSP from 1965 to 1992. He passed away in 1997.

Jianwei Wang
Title: Retired
Email: j2wang@uwsp.edu