

Stevens Point WI 54481-3897 715-346-2124; Fax 715-346-2042 E-mail: Common.Council.Office@uwsp.edu www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil

Nominations for the 2024-2025 University Awards are due February 21, 2025:

- Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship, and Service
- **Excellence in Teaching**

Faculty Council

- **University Scholarship**
- **University Service**

**The nomination cover sheets and updated rubrics are here: www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil/Pages/Awards.aspx..

More details about these and other University Sponsored Awards, including eligibility, are in Chapter 6 of the University Handbook.

Important Reminders:

- Each **department or unit** may submit <u>one</u> nominee for each of the four awards.
- The student body may nominate up to twelve individuals for the Excellence in Teaching award and up to three individuals for the University Service award. (Department heads should assist students in gathering nomination materials.)
- All nominations must use the approved university nomination forms without reformatting.
- As possible, merge the supporting documentation for each nominee into one file, either Word or pdf.
- Title the document using the nominee's full name (e.g., "George Clooney teaching nomination").
- Use the checklist to make sure all documentation is submitted. Do not exceed the page limit.

Award winners are ineligible for the same award for five years. University Awards Subcommittee members are also ineligible. See below list of previous winners.

PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS

(Ineligible for nomination for the same award this year)

2024

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Jennifer Collins, Political Science

Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award

Lindsay Dresang, Biology Maggie Bohm-Jordan, Sociology and Social Work

Heather Molenda-Figueira, Psychology Joe Mondloch, Chemistry

Jesse Mossholder, Education

Ryan O'Leary, Philosophy and Religious Studies **University Service Award**

Neil Prendergast, History and International Studies Valerie Barske, History and International Studies

Paul Whitaker, Biology

2023

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Sarah Orlofske, Biology

Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award Nate Bowling, Chemistry Qiang Sun, Biology

> **University Service Award** Jess Bowers, Sociology

Robert Michitsch, Soil and Waste Resources

David Chunyu, Sociology Amanda Jonsson, Chemistry Ellen Meier, Psychology Tim Wright, Education

2022

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Richard Hauer, Forestry

Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award

Becca Franzen, Human Dimensions of Natural Resource Mgt. Adriana Durbala, Physics & Astronomy

Nikki Logan, School of Education Sarah Orlofske, Biology

Jeana Magyar, Psychology

Erica Ringelspaugh, English University Service Award

Nerissa Nelson, University Libraries

Robert Sirabian, English

2021

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: David Barry, Sociology and Social Work

Excellence in Teaching AwardUniversity Scholar AwardPamela Bork, School of EducationChris Diehm, PhilosophyLauren Gantz, EnglishAlex Ingersoll, Media Studies

Kyle Herrman, Fisheries and Water Resources

Kate Kipp, Sociology and Social Work

Erin Speetzen, Chemistry

Jennifer Collins, Political Science
Kathryn McGarry, Chemistry

2020

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Nate Bowling, Chemistry

Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award

Myles Boothroyd, Music

David Barry, Sociology and Social Work

Asses Reverse Sociology and Social Work

Write Slammons Biology

Jess Bowers, Sociology and Social Work Krista Slemmons, Biology Cary Elza, Communication

Joshua Horn, Philosophy

Jerry Jessee, History

University Service Award

Mary Bowman, English

Yan Liao, University Libraries

Members of the 2024-2025 University Awards Subcommittee

(ineligible for nomination)

Sarah Beaulieu, CPS Beth Kinslow, CPS, Chair Nerissa Nelson, UCOL Mike Rader, CNR Shannon Riha, COLS Molly Roseman, COFAC Danelle Smith, CPS

Please use the current nomination forms available on the Common Council website.

https://www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil/Pages/Awards.aspx