

Stevens Point WI 54481-3897 715-346-2124; Fax 715-346-2042 E-mail: Common.Council.Office@uwsp.edu www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil

## Nominations for the 2023-2024 University Awards are due February 19, 2024:

- Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship, and Service
- Excellence in Teaching

**Faculty Council** 

- University Scholarship
- University Service

\*\*The nomination cover sheets and updated rubrics are here:

www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil/Pages/Awards.aspx. Please note the rubrics have been updated since last year.

More details about these and other University Sponsored Awards, including eligibility, are in Chapter 6 of the University Handbook.

### **Important Reminders:**

- Each **department or unit** may submit <u>one</u> nominee for each of the four awards.
- The student body may nominate up to <u>twelve</u> individuals for the Excellence in Teaching award and up to <u>three</u> individuals for the University Service award.
  - (Department heads should assist students in gathering nomination materials.)
- All nominations <u>must</u> use the approved university nomination forms without reformatting.
- As possible, merge the supporting documentation for each nominee into one file, either Word or pdf.
- Title the document using the nominee's full name (e.g., "George Clooney teaching nomination").
- Use the checklist to make sure <u>all</u> documentation is submitted. Do not exceed the page limit.

**Award winners are ineligible for the** <u>same</u> **award for five years.** University Awards Subcommittee members are also ineligible. See below list of previous winners.

### **PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS**

(Ineligible for nomination for the same award this year)

#### 2023

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Sarah Orlofske, Biology

Excellence in Teaching Award
David Chunyu, Sociology
Amanda Jonsson, Chemistry
Ellen Meier, Psychology
Tim Wright, Education

University Scholar Award Nate Bowling, Chemistry Qiang Sun, Biology

University Service Award Jess Bowers, Sociology

Robert Michitsch, Soil and Waste Resources

#### 2022

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Richard Hauer, Forestry

Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award

Becca Franzen, Human Dimensions of Natural Resource Mgt. Adriana Durbala, Physics & Astronomy Nikki Logan, School of Education Sarah Orlofske, Biology

Jeana Magyar, Psychology

Erica Ringelspaugh, English University Service Award

Nerissa Nelson, University Libraries

Robert Sirabian, English

#### 2021

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: David Barry, Sociology and Social Work **Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award** Pamela Bork, School of Education Chris Diehm, Philosophy Lauren Gantz, English Alex Ingersoll, Media Studies

Kyle Herrman, Fisheries and Water Resources

Kate Kipp, Sociology and Social Work **University Service Award** Erin Speetzen, Chemistry Jennifer Collins, Political Science Kathryn McGarry, Chemistry

2020

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Nate Bowling, Chemistry

**Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award** 

Myles Boothroyd, Music David Barry, Sociology and Social Work

Jess Bowers, Sociology and Social Work Krista Slemmons, Biology

Cary Elza, Communication Joshua Horn, Philosophy **University Service Award** Jerry Jessee, History Mary Bowman, English Yan Liao, University Libraries

2019

Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service: Michael Demchik, Forestry

**Excellence in Teaching Award University Scholar Award** Susan Bender, Music Justin Rueb, Psychology Maggie Bohm-Jordan, Sociology and Social Work Ross Tangedal, English

Jacob Prater, Soil and Waste Resources

Bryant Scharenbroch, Soil and Waste Resources

**University Service Award** Krista Slemmons, Biology

Anna Haines, Human Dimensions of Natural Resource

Management

Vera Klekovkina, World Languages and Literatures

# Members of the 2023-2024 University Awards Subcommittee

(ineligible for nomination)

Sarah Beaulieu, CPS Stacey Berk, COFAC Hardeep Kaur Dhalla, COLS Elizabeth Felt, COLS Alyssa Gunderson, CNR Kyle Neill, University College, Chair

Please use the current nomination forms available on the Common Council website.

https://www.uwsp.edu/commoncouncil/Pages/Awards.aspx