Student Email Address Information

Email Alias for students is composed of the first letter of the first name followed by the first 4 characters of the last name followed by the last three digits of the UWSP student ID number.  If the email alias is the same as another UWSP student, the student that registered second will have the number 2 added to their email alias.
 
Your default email address is composed of First.M.Last@uwsp.edu.  You should use your default email address to sign up for internet services and listservs. If you request your full middle name to be used your default email address will be composed of First.Middle.Last@uwsp.edu.
 
You also have an email address that is composed of email_alias@uwsp.edu.  *If the first and last names are the same as another UWSP student, the student that registered second will have the number 2 added to their email address.  Please see examples below.

Scenario Name Alias Address
Normal Account Jane M Alsted jalst678 Jane.M.Alsted@uwsp.edu (default)
jalst678@uwsp.edu
Full Middle Name Requested Ton Yih Koh tkoh678 Ton.Yih.Koh@uwsp.edu (default)
tkoh678@uwsp.edu


Example of how duplicate email aliases are handled.

Scenario Name Alias Address
1st registered student Jack L Smith jsmit678 Jack.L.Smith@uwsp.edu (default)
jsmit678@uwsp.edu
2nd registered student Joel K Smithers j2smi678 Joel.K.Smithers@uwsp.edu (default)
j2smi678@uwsp.edu


Example of how duplicate names are handled.

Scenario Name Alias Address
1st registered student Daniel D Alber dalb678 Daniel.D.Alber(default)
dalbe678@uwsp.edu
2nd registered student Daniel D Alber dalb543 Daniel.D.Alber2@uwsp.edu (default)
dalbe543@uwsp.edu


Student name changes are handled automatically when the student changes their name through Registration and Records. The current account information is changed to reflect the new name and new internet addresses are added based on the new name. The old internet addresses based on the former last name are not removed, so there is no interruption in receiving email.

All email addresses for a person deliver mail to a single account.